Comparisons
A Copilot Money alternative you pay for once
Copilot Money is a polished choice if you are in the United States, use an iPhone or a Mac, and want your transactions brought in and tagged for you. Tobsy is for someone outside the US, or on Android, or who would rather type spending in, budget their own way, keep the data in their own Google Sheet, and pay once: A$59, after thirty days free.
· 3 min read
Side by side
The Copilot column comes from Copilot's own pages, read on 13 October 2026. The Tobsy column is on this site.
| Copilot Money | Tobsy | |
|---|---|---|
| Price | US$95 a year (US$7.92 a month, billed yearly), or monthly | A$59 once. No subscription and no renewal |
| Free trial | One month | Thirty days, every screen. An email address and nothing else |
| Bank connection | Feeds from 10,000+ US financial institutions, through data providers | None, by design. Quick entry, CSV statement import, or a screenshot read on your device |
| Where its feeds work | "Copilot Money only supports US-based financial institutions and accounts" | No feed, so no country list. Any currency, with dates and numbers in your country's format |
| Budgeting | Category budgets with rollovers | Intentions: flexible. Zero-based, envelope-style rollover, 50/30/20 or any percentages |
| Where the data lives | Copilot's service; bank logins are handled by its data providers | A Google Sheet in your own Drive |
| Households | No household plan on the pages read; a partner signs in to the same account, and "any additional logged-in devices will also have full control of the account" | Up to six people, two households, splits global or per category, settle-up, and one private category each |
| Forecast | Cash flow with monthly summaries; a forward forecast is not stated on the pages read | Six months ahead, shown as a range |
| Platforms | iPhone, iPad, Mac and web; Android is not listed | Any phone, tablet or computer |
| Currencies | Not stated on the pages read | Any currency, with the rate frozen on the day |
| Languages | Not stated on the pages read | English, Spanish, Portuguese, Italian, German, Dutch and French |
The one real difference
Copilot is built around US bank feeds, and its FAQ says it supports US-based accounts only. Tobsy has no feed: you type a purchase in a few taps, and catch up from a screenshot or a statement, checked before anything saves. That makes it the same app in any country, on any phone.
Feeds are handy where they work, and they carry their own checking: Plaid, which Copilot links accounts through, says a pending payment that posts "will appear as a separate transaction", so a statement is cross-checked either way.
Budgeting and couples
Budgeting in Tobsy is called Intentions. Set an intention per category in dollars or as a percent of income, see what is left against your income, and turn on rollover where you want it, much like Copilot's rollovers. A Savings floor lets you pay yourself first, and goals show a suggested amount a month.
For a couple, Copilot shares one account. Tobsy gives each person their own place in one copy: shared costs split the way you choose, the settle-up worked out, and one private category each. See for couples and families.
Price and data over time
Copilot is US$95 each year. Tobsy is A$59 once, your key does not expire, and your entries stay in your own sheet whether you pay or not. See Pricing, or look around the demo.
Sources
- Copilot Money home page — US$7.92 a month billed yearly at US$95, the one-month trial, rollovers, cash flow with monthly summaries, iPhone, iPad, Mac and web, 2026-10-13
- Copilot Money FAQ — "only supports US-based financial institutions and accounts", 10,000+ US institutions, data providers, platforms, 2026-10-13
- Copilot Money for Web — "available in the US for iPhone, iPad, Mac, and Web", 2026-10-13
- Sharing Your Account with a Partner — sign-in by Magic Link, "full control of the account", 2026-10-13
- Plaid customer story: Copilot — Copilot links accounts through Plaid, 2026-10-13
- Plaid docs: Transactions troubleshooting — a posted transaction "will appear as a separate transaction", 2026-10-13
- Tobsy: For couples and families — up to six people, two households, splits, settle-up, a PIN-protected private category, 2026-10-13
- Tobsy: Staying ahead — intentions in dollars or percent, rollover and roll-under, the six-month forecast as a range, 2026-10-13
- Tobsy pricing — the price, currencies, languages, 2026-10-13
Questions
Is Copilot Money available in Australia?
Copilot's FAQ says it supports US-based financial institutions and accounts only. Tobsy has no bank feed, so it works the same in Australia or anywhere: pick your base currency, and dates and numbers follow your country's formatting.
Is there an Android version?
Copilot's pages list iPhone, iPad, Mac and web. Tobsy runs on any phone, tablet or computer, Android included.
Can I use rollover budgets in Tobsy?
Yes. Set an intention per category in dollars or as a percent of income and turn on rollover, and what you did not spend carries into next month's intention.
Can my partner have their own view?
Yes. One copy holds up to six people, each with their own share of the household's costs, and each person has one private category whose detail stays theirs.
Is there a monthly fee?
No. Thirty days free, then one payment of A$59. Your card is charged in your own currency at the checkout's rate.
Thirty days free
Try it, or look around first.
The demo is the real app with fourteen months of sample entries. The trial is every screen, for thirty days, with your own.
About ten minutes to set up, once, on a computer. You’ll need a Google account. A$59 after the trial, if you want to keep it.